A Pianistic Tradition Looking to the West


January 6, 2023 (Friday) - 11:00 a.m.

Anton Rubinstein, Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky, Alexander Scriabin and Sergei Rachmaninov are composers who, with the exception of Tchaikovsky, were also great pianists. Their work is a fundamental contribution to the birth and affirmation of the Russian pianistic school. However, their poetics is rooted in the tradition of the universal music of the West, of cosmopolitan authors such as Chopin and Liszt.


Anton Rubinstein (1829-1894)
Romance in E flat major, Op. 44 no. 1

Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
2 Pieces, Op. 1 No. 1 - Scherzo à la Russe
Dumka, op. 59
Meditations, Op. 72 No. 5

Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915)
5 Preludes, Op. 15
Sonata-Fantasy in G-sharp minor No. 2, Op. 19

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Piano Sonata in B-flat minor No. 2, Op. 36




This post is also available in: Español (Spanish)